Usenet Explorer

Forums
It is currently Wed Aug 22, 2018 1:45 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Some suggestions concerning Proxies
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:48 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 13
Since I'm working with proxies a lot i have two suggestions that could make using them somewhat easier: At first it would be great if NewsPro could be programmed to recognize the syntax "ip:port" that many lists and programs (i.e. Proxy Checker) use so that one wouldn't have to paste ip and port separately. Maybe the Port Field could even omitted alltogether.
The next request is probably harder to program; I'm not sure if it s even possible. But it would be great if NewsPro could handle multiple proxies for one server with two different modes: "Backup Mode" would ensure switching to the next proxy in line if the first fails and "Concurrent Mode" would make it possible to assign different proxies to the different connections one can open to the nntp. Proxies would have to be inserted into a small list and that's where my first request could come in handy. Like with copying and pasting multiple newsgroups at the same time one could copy proxies from lists in a breeze.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:49 pm 

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 4373
check

http://proxylabs.netwu.com/download/pcap103.msi

my brother wrote it, it allows multiple proxies in random order, the problem in version 2 he added udp support and had to remove the feature (but the 1th version is fully functional).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:43 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks for the link, but I have found another very simple method for adding multiple proxies to newsservers. Just add the newsserver ip to your hosts file (windows\system32\drivers\etc) like this:

# 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
# 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

127.0.0.1 --- localhost
your nntps ip --- random name1
your nntps ip --- random name2
your nntps ip --- random name3

Then enter the three random names into NP and assign a different Proxy to each of them. This tip was contributed by Markus on the newsserverguide.de board.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:52 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2003 5:57 pm
Posts: 4373
if you need to set up several entries for the same server through different proxies (e.g. a server limits the number of connections/bandwidth from a single ip), it is a way to go, it was mentioned somewhere on the forum in the context of setting several server accounts.

with port just remind me later if i forgot, i'll leave the port edit box but it will understand if you will enter a port with the server name.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 1:09 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:29 pm
Posts: 13
Thanks for implementing it and take your time. It's not that urgent as it only adds some convenience.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2004 3:59 pm 

Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 3:52 pm
Posts: 1
hello,

was the Proxy:Port feature ever implemented in the dialog box? and if not yet, can you change it to Proxy:Port@Protocol (such as @SOCKS4, @SOCKS5, @HTTP)

thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group