[REQ] Some new shortcut keys

murgoob

[REQ] Some new shortcut keys

Post by murgoob »

Hi. I was a long time Forte Agent user, until about 2 months ago when my news service announced that their news server software didnt like Forte Agent and suggested I use Newspro.. So i switched.. And I really like Newspro.
I miss a few things that I had gotten used to in Agent.

1. A shortcut key to move to the next newsgroup with unread messages
(for example, I'll open a newsgroup and read all the messages there, then when i get to the bottom, i have to close the newsgroup i'm in, click over to the newsgroup list, remember which newsgroup i had just read in the list, find the next one down and open it.) Agent did this all with the "S" key.

2. While in full article view (not the split window) have a shortcut key to move to the next unread article that has a body. ("N" in Agent) Or just the next article... the only thing close is F5/F6, but that only works in split view.

I understand that agent is not newspro. I just thought those shortcut keys were helpful. Newspro is still by far, better than agent.
murgoob

Post by murgoob »

Trying out some different configurations..
If i move the split window really high, then i can read each article and press F5/F6 and move between article (as long as i dont double click the article.. let it stay in the split window)

that works ok i guess.. it still goes to messages that dont have bodies, but thats easy to fix, just hit the spacebar and retieve it.

havnt found a workaround for the Close Current Newsgroup + Open Next Newsgroup part yet.
alex

Post by alex »

This are shortcuts from the help file (the rest as well as some of these are shown in menus)

General
Ctrl-T Task manager (show/hide)
Ctrl-F Find dialog
Ctrl-S Selection dialog
Ctrl-B Bookmark dialog
Ctrl-N Newsgroups and servers window
Ctrl-L Newsgroup list window
Ctrl-G Get new headers
Ctrl-P Post article
Ctrl-W Window list

Newsgroup Window